In 1972 the Board of Commissioners of Freehold Township Fire District #2 were formed to oversee fire protection for the people, buildings and property within the District.  The Board of Commissioners are a five (5) member group who are responsible for the purchasing of apparatus, maintenance of apparatus, purchasing firefighting equipment for the trucks and gear for the members of the East Freehold Fire Company.  They are also responsible for necessary insurance and firefighting training.

The Board of Commissioners are public servants and are elected by vote every February. They are a dedicated group of five (5) that meet every 3rd Tuesday from April through September, and every 2nd & 3rd Tuesday from October through March.  The meetings are held at the Main Station of the East Freehold Fire Company located at 191 Dutch Lane Road.  Meetings begin at 7:00PM